LUNCH @ SUSHI MITSUYA

After browsing Mitsuya’s menu which is available online , I think it’s more economical to go for its lunch set . And so I made my weekend free for a peaceful lunch here !

I went for the meal consisting most number of courses , named Kasha 華奢 in Mitsuya’s menu and I would say it was a little disappointment for the food I was served and the value i’d paid.

Kasha 華奢 meal consists of :-

1) APPETISERS

image1

Spinach and radish with sweet cold broth. I’m paying for just vegetables ???? Was expecting more , and thus this is pretty simple and disappointing starter.

2) APPETISERS (B)

image2

Alright, this is so much better and I love this ! Fish roes in tiny flat block shapes look interesting . Every bite of the roes, it’s like popsicles popping and dancing in my mouth .

Sides with spinach vegetables , yes , I’m pleased with the starters and looking forward to more !

3) SASHIMIS

A) Flounder

image3

Fresh flounder wrapped with chives and topped with minced raddish and chilli . This has a spicier taste due to its chillies , yet a little sweetness with the sashimi sauce.

B) Squids

image4

This is succulent and splendid. The fresh sliced squid in beautifully white glamouring colour is so attractive at sight !

The efforts in wrapping is much appreciated (by me) . Wrapped with sliced squids, sliced ginger and shiso leaves. This is the first time I ate squid wraps in an omakase meal and I like this combination totally !

C) King Mackerel

image6

I don’t really like mackerel but I got to specially mention this to mackerel lovers. This two pieces served thickly cut , and topped with minced garlic ! wow , I was quite surprised that beside ginger, garlic also goes well with sashimi fishes ! it’s definitely an alternative I will consume when  having sashimi meals from home.

d) Fatty Tuna ( Ootoro)

image7

Without much elaboration needed , all time favorites by many sashimi fish lovers !

Here at Mitsuya, a pinky thick fresh piece was served raw , as well as 2 pieces of seared ootoro was cooked with teriyaki sauce and topped with a light sprinkle of salt and black pepper.

Both cooked and raw, totally melted in my mouth . Creamy and soft .

4) MAIN DISH A

image8

image9

Ft. Barracuda fish mound liver, boiled awabi Abalone and two salted gingko nuts.

Very softly boiled barracuda fish , nothing sweet or bitter , but just a little seasoned saltiness.

5) MAIN DISH B

image10

Matsukasa-yaki with scales and gently fried , It may be rough on the outside, but its eat is soft and warmly fresh on the inside. Served with salted japanese green peppers and Some drips of lemon made it perfect tasting.

6) OMAKASE SUSHI

image2

image3

image4

image5

image7

image6

First , The unagi see eel sushi is a very unique first taste experience for me . Instead of normal soft warm sushi rice, here we had sticky rice block ! It just somehow reminds of peanut candies , with that firm sticky rice tugged under that fresh piece of unagi.

Sea Urchin was pretty normal for me ,but freshness assured .

Their scallop with yuzu bits and charcoal salt is another one that i like too ! Just little bit of sour , yet not overruling the raw freshness of the hotate scallop.

Lastly, the roll sushi of ootoro and some minced garlic. I LOVE THiS ! Especially for the minced garlic added , which added some spice to make the roll sushi even enriched and tastier .

7) DESSERTS

image8

Oh and finally the desserts , and I’m still loving it ! It’s not disappointing at all ! Steamed brown sugar cake that reminds me of a tradition chinese rice cake ( HUAT Cake) . That homely feeling ~

Miso Ice Cream is very pleasing too with that loving sweet caramel-like taste, but slightly rough textured .

.

.

.

FOOD : Freshness assured for their meat served . 

SERVICE : As i went during the last hour of the lunch time , so the serving was slightly faster . Nevertheless, i was generously allowed the time spent to take photographs. I was well explained on each dish served too .

AMBIENCE : Both Counter seats and Private rooms available. Cool for both small groups, couples or business clients.

Food Tasting: 3 /5
Decoration: 3 /5
Ambience: 3 /5
OVERALL RATINGS: 3 /5

Address:

60 Tras Street #01-01, Singapore 078999 (Behind Orchid Hotel)

Leave a Reply

